RSS

Bride on a mission

30 May
Bride on a mission

I’m honest about my body. It is short, chunky and not altogether fabulous. On the whole I can live with it as long I’m reasonably fit and healthy.

Of course, once the wedding date was set I flew into a full on body flap. I absolutely DID NOT want to look back at the photos in years to come and regret not doing more, to wish I’d felt more confident in front of the camera or, worse still, not look at the photos at all.

So I’ve taken action. I am a bride on a mission. You might be aware that I started weight watchers once before and gave up when life and events got a bit too much for me a year and a half ago. But, as things are fine again now, I’ve signed up again. I would like to lose 5st before the wedding, I don’t know if this is realistic or not, but I’m going to bloody well try.

I’ve also ramped up the exercise. The weight loss is nothing without the toning and sculpting you will only get through exercise. So I’m hitting the gym at least twice a week, starting a 0-5k challenge, a monthly challenge (this month, squats) and I’ve got a monthly pass for the barre workout in Newcastle.

Have I mentioned the barre workout? It’s amazing. I’ve been going for a while now, over a year and I love it. It’s done with a ballet barre – lots of plies, attitude, arabesque and some fab variations such BRX, Barrdio and express classes.
If you want a dancers body without the dance, this is the place to be.

You should know that I am about as elegant as a baby hippo on roller skates, but even I can cope with barre classes. I say cope. I have a coping mechanism at least. I feel stronger, more flexible than I have ever been in my life, I am continually astounded at what my body can actually do if I ask it to and as a result I am a more confident person. Getting married doesn’t scare me, the thought of all those people looking at me while I do it, does. But if I can get through an hour of pretty intense sweaty barre class in leggings and a t shirt (and yes, I wear leg warmers and I bloody love it) in front of a beautiful professional dancer/instructor and a lot of other people and STILL feel good at the end if it. I’m not going to worry about a 100 normal people watch me marry the man I love.

I want to walk tall down the aisle, I used to walk everywhere with my head down and hope not to be noticed, this is my typical ‘fat day’ behaviour. I refuse to have a ‘fat day’ on my wedding day. With diet, exercise and lots of support I will be the bride I want to be.

I want to take a moment to thank Suzy for introducing me to barre and all the lovely people I’ve met by going there. Also, big thanks to Natalie, Clare, Maxine and all the barre workout gang. And my colleague Sarah who has been a weight loss and fitness guru to me over the last few months, she’s an absolute machine (and a top notch lady). Also Christine who runs my weight watchers meeting, she holds me to account every week and her motivational messages are always a great midweek reminder!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 30, 2014 in Wedding adventures

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Bride on a mission

  1. advocare distributor

    May 31, 2014 at 1:05 am

    If you are unhappy with something do exactly what you are doing…change it. It is all within your power.

    Change what you eat and exercise, then losing 5 st will be like nothing. Just develop you discipline and consistency with it.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

